Wednesday, December 16, 2009

ODU's Fab Five

You have to choose five Old Dominion players as the five best. Throw out position. Pick the five greatest to wear a Lady Monarch uniform. That's what Debbie Antonelli was asked to do during this week's WBCA podcast.
How impressive is Lady Monarch history? Consider Wade Trophy winner Ticha Penicheiro didn't make the cut. Here's who Antonelli goes with:

Anne Donovan: She's the Babe Ruth on ODU's all-time great list. In case you need to be reminded, she led ODU to an AIAW title in 1980 and two more Final Fours. Donovan was a Kodak All-American three of her four years and graduated as the school's leading scorer (2,719 points) and rebounder (1,976) with an NCAA record 801 shots blocked.

Nancy Lieberman: If Donovan is Ruth, Lieberman is Gehrig. Lady Magic is ODU's all-time leader in assists with 983, ranks third overall in scoring (2,430) and second in steals (512). Lieberman is the only two-time Wade Trophy winner and was one of 10 players named to the Kodak All-American team recognized as the best to ever play the game.

Inge Nissen: Her 2,647 points and 1,459 rebounds are second only to Donovan and twice she was a national champion (1979 and 1980). Named a Kodak All-American her senior year, Nissen was a two-time Wade Trophy finalist and earned team MVP honors three of her four seasons.

Adrienne Goodson: A national champion her freshmen season (1984-85) when she scored 323 points. Goodson was a Kodak All-American and Sun Belt Player of the Year in 1987-88. Goodson's 1,574 points rank her 11th all time.

Medina Dixon: The Naismith finalist for the 1984-85 season when ODU won the national title. Her 1,968 points puts her at seventh all time.

Antonelli wrestled with two other names, Marie Christian and Rhonda Rompola, before narrowing her choice down to the Fab Five.

In case you're wondering, the Constant Center rafters honor the retired numbers of Donovan, Lieberman, Nissen, Penicheiro and Clarisse Machanguana.

We'd like to open this up for discussion. If you could only pick five all-time Lady Monarch greats, who would they be? We'd love to hear from longtime Lady Monarch fans on this topic.


  1. Why isn't Ticha Penicheiro on that list?

    Also, Medina Dixon was not the National Player of the Year in 1984-85. Cheryl Miller from USC owned that title from 1984-86.

  2. Thanks for the Dixon catch. We wondered the same about Ticha. Who do you take off? Can anyone make a case for Rompola?

  3. I'd take off Goodson.

    While she had a great Freshmen year when ODU won the title she did not lead the team. That was Medina Dixon and Tracy Claxton. In her Sophomore season ODU didn't even make it to the big dance. She did finish out her career rather well though. Ticha led ODU to the big dance all four years she was there and that included a championship game her junior year and an elite eight in her senior season. She also won the Wade trophy Player of the Year as a senior. Goodson did not and by the time she graduated ODU had fallen off the radar as a contender for the NCAA title. Ticha and Clarisse Machanguana made ODU into a women's basketball powerhouse in the 1990s and brought the program back to national prominence.

    As far as Rompola goes I wouldn't add her in anything. She transferred to SMU and didn't finish her career at ODU.

  4. Thanks to all the haters. I love it