Wednesday, March 9, 2011

JMU's Evans (finally) named CAA's best

Dawn Evans - CAA Player of the Year. We'd never been able to say that before, which is pretty remarkable as the Dukes star seems to have won everything else. Finally, she's added the conference's top player honors as voted by the CAA's 12 head coaches.

Evans headed an awards list that yielded few surprises. UNC Wilmington's Cynthia Cooper-Dyke was the league's Coach of the Year; the Seahawks' Alisha Andrews won top rookie honors and Old Dominion's Jasmine Parker was the Defensive Player of the Year. William and Mary's Lindsey Moller won the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award.

Evans was joined on the All-CAA first team by VCU's Courtney Hurt, Hofstra's Shante Evans, UNC Wilmington's Brittany Blackwell and Delaware's Elena Delle Donne, the 2010 CAA Player of the Year who missed the middle portion of the season with illness by starred at the beginning and end.

Six teams had two players each on one of the three All-CAA teams:

James Madison (Dawn Evans and 2nd-teamer Lauren Jimenez);
Old Dominion (2nd-teamer Parker and 3rd-teamer Tia Lewis);
VCU (Hurt and 2nd-teamer Andrea Barbour)
UNC Wilmington (Blackwell and 2nd-teamer Martha White);
Delaware (Delle Donne and 3rd-teamer Lauren Carra);
Drexel (2nd-teamer Kamile Nacickaite and 3rd-teamer Jasmina Rosseel)

Hofstra's Evans and 3rd-teamers Chan Harris of Georgia State and Taysha Pye of William and Mary were the other All-CAA players.

Click here for a complete list of the All-CAA honorees.

No comments:

Post a Comment